Phoenix Brazas FC takes 1st place spot

Yesterday the last scheduled match leading up to the championship took place in Los Angeles, California between South Bay Originals FC and Phoenix Brazas FC. Due to a large point gap between the top two and bottom two clubs, the championship match was already known to be against New Mexico Elite and Phoenix Brazas FC. Despite the upcoming match already being decided, yesterday's match was so important because it determined two things.

1. Who would finish on the top of the standings in first place


2. Where the championship match would be hosted; Phoenix or Albuquerque.

The match was originally scheduled to start at 11am, but due to facility complication with the hosting team, the match was rescheduled for 12:30pm. The first half of the match was intense, but without the normal amount of goals we typically see between these two top scoring clubs. The first half ended with a tie score of 2 v 2. During the second half, the score came to a tie once again until the remaining 5 minutes where Phoenix Brazas FC got a two point lead that they were able to keep until the whistle blew. The final score was 4 v 6; Phoenix Brazas FC for the win and their 5th victory this season.

The results of this match put Phoenix Brazas FC back in first place that they held for most of the season; toggling over the last few weeks between New Mexico Elite and now Phoenix Brazas FC.


Audio Recording of Phoenix Brazas FC celebrating their victory on their way to their team house in Walnut, Ca. yesterday afternoon.


The championship match for the top two clubs to fight for the $2,500 prize money and the title of the 2021 AFL Season Champions will be this Saturday May 8th. The time is yet to be disclosed, as both clubs make facility and travel arrangements on such short notice. The president of USAFF, Mark Brown, will be attending the championship match and conducting the coin toss during the opening ceremony. Stay tuned for more information about the upcoming match.

South Bay Originals FC

#5 Gabriel Gomez- 1 Goal

#9 Caio Gesualdi- 1 Goal

#8 Fabian Arroyo- 1 Goal

#7 Jerson Suarez- 1 Goal

Phoenix Brazas FC

#7 Joao Alvarez- 1 Goal

#3 Kahlin Gonzalez- 1 Goal

#13 Diego Aires- 3 Goals

#14 Izsak Fierro- 1 Goal

161 views0 comments